The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Given prompt explains non-resident of Oak city are being obstacle for the proper utilization of city budget by objecting decisions in the committee meeting which as a result has delayed development of the city. According to the contention, if the non-resident do not interfere the committee will make Oak City a better place but to substantiate the argument three questions should be answered.

Firstly, how can the argument be made without knowing the proportion of resident and non-resident in the Oak city? May be majority of the people staying in Oak city are non-resident and they are directly influenced by the decisions made by the committee. Moreover, isn’t it possible that the limited budget is due to having fewer resident in Oak city. If the number of tax paying is increased in the city there will be more budget resulting in better development of the place. Also, there might be more number of non-resident in committee due to more involvement of them in the development works of the city. If that is the case then it is essential for the committee to listen to their suggestions. If any of the above case is true, the argument given does not hold water.

Further, isn’t it possible that the decisions made by the committee will not yield the optimal result for the city? The decisions made by the committee might be flawed and could be irrelavent for the city. It is also possible that the non-resident who objected regarding the decision were trying to help the people of Oak city to genuinely be a better place suggesting the committee to consider better approach for the development. If any of the above situation is true, the contention is considered flawed.

Also, isn’t it possible that the non-resident who objected for the committee descisions were advisors for the development works? They may be doing their jobs by pointing out the flaws in the decisions made by the committee. It is also possible that non-resident people objected for the decisions because they had already seen the negative affects of the implementation in their native place. So to save the Oak city, where they work, they were trying to object the decisions made by the committee. If any of the case is true, the author asssumption regarding the non-resident people’s objection in the committee is not warranted.

The contention is made without considering the whole scenario and flawed assumptions. So the argument in the prompt must be carefully reacessed to draw the right conclusion.