The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

The argument presented on website science news conclude that higher frequency of meal with family will lead teens to be less involve in illegal activities. The author supports the argument with these three assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the above evaluation.

Firstly, isn’t it possible to be involved in illegal activities and eat dinner with the family at the same time? Author assumption that teens who are not having illegal drugs when eating meals with family is not convincing because they might eat illegal things before or after coming to the house for meal. There is also possibility that they hide the alcohol, drugs or tobacco at their room and after having meal with their family together they come to their room and eat those illegal things. If any of the above situation is true, author conclusion does not hold water.

Also, isn’t it possible that those who stay in hostel get higher grades? Author assumes that teens who eat with their family get higher grades and have better self esteem but students who live in hostel far away from their family can also get good grades and not involve in consumption of illegal items. Perhaps, an orphan who doesn’t have their family and never has meal with their family can be great at their grades and not consume alcohol, drugs or/and tobacco. If any of the assumption is true the author claim is not warranted.

Lastly, isn’t it possible that the teens who said they don’t use illegal drugs, alcohol or/and drugs are telling lies? There is a possibility that teens who came for the survey had to respond to the question in front of their parents so they instead of getting into trouble lied about the question. Maybe teens forms were filled or transported to the survey station by parents their parents so to hide their innocence they did not answer the question honestly. If any of the situation holds true the author assertion is considered flawed.

The author argument must be carefully reassessed because the teens might be involved in illegal activities even though they eat meal with their family. Therefore, the student’s truthfulness and information specifically about those who stay away from their families must be individually relooked upon to make author’s conclusion more promising.