The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everyone is unique in this world with different abilities and perspectives which makes them great in their own way. The prompt suggests, the individuals greatness could be decided only after they are no more in the world, ignoring the contemporaries perspective during their time. I mostly disagree to the argument due to following three reasons.

Firstly, each individual in this world and born uniquely to give back to the society. Everyone has their own experience and talent nurtured during their lifetime which influences the people around. For instance, Albert Einstein, who is one of the most renowned scientist, was appreciated by people all around the world. It is not the individuals whose greatness are appreciated, but it is the talent that they show during the time. Due to which many followers as well as his contemporaries appreciated his work and followed his footmark on approaching the science. In addition, Stephen Hawkins was also a eminent scientist appreciated by the contemporaries while he was living and after his death. Therefore, people remember individual because of the greatness they reflected back to the society whether they be dead or alive.

Further, in twenty first century, contemporaries are no more considered rivals instead people working in the similar grounds work together to uplift each other. Moreover, people working in the same field inspire each other and motivate to accelerate their image with synergy. To illustrate this scenario, there are many movies made in collaboration with directors from different countries with different specialty. They respect each other and work together with motive to develop the whole field. Thus, making them being known even after they are no more in the world. In addition, we can see many Youtubers collaborating with other another spreading awareness. Promoting the contemporaries and themselves makes effective image among huge mass of people thus they are appreciated for the collaborated work.

Sometimes, however, people expect more and do not appreciate what they have around them. For example, people of Nepal were reluctance of their king during his regime. When the whole families were killed, people craved for the peaceful environment and discipline created by the royals. Before their death, people tend to flout the rules but later they realized the need for it. Also, nursing was not respected profession until they felt their need in the society due to war. They did not realize the greatness that Mother Terresa shared until people faced those scenarios themselves. To sum, in some scenarios, people only realize the greatness of an individuals once they are gone.

All in all, it is essential to appreciate the small task by the people as those baby steps could be the stepping stone for the next big task.