The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given prompt compares the monkeys and the humans based on having similar level of hormone ‘cortisol’ in the mother and firstborn infant. Following three questions must be answered to validate the conclusion made in the given prompt.

Firsty, can a sample of 18 rhesus monkeys be enough sample to draw conclusion about the effects of birth order for individual stimulation in monkeys? It may be possible that those sample monkeys had higher level of cortisol hormones in them in the gene causing high cortisol hormone in the family line. Perhaps, first born monkey got underlying condition of higher cortisol from those sample monkey parents. If any of the above case is true the argument made does not hold water.

Secondly, monkeys and humans have different environment of living, food and stress level. Considering this, how can firstborn monkey and human hormone level be considered ignoring other external factor? Maybe the monkey have hormone B causing it to have higher cortisol while human has higher stress level causing it to have higher level of cortisol. It is possible that monkey has higher cortisol in them due to higher activity and humans have higher cortisol due to high salt in food. If any of the above case is true the contention made is considered flawed.

Lastly, the study compared cortisol level in first time pregnant monkey and monkeys who already had child. How can the cortisol be compared without giving the exact quantity? Maybe the higher level of cortisol is not compareable. The firsttimer pregnant monkey may have 2 cortisol level while non-firsttimer pregnant monkey might have 1.95 cortisol level. Although the cortisol level is higher in first time pregnant monkey it is not significant to draw conclusion. If above case is true, the assumption about the pregnant monkey is not validated.

All in all, it is essential to have concrete contention to draw conclusion about the study. If the the assumptions and evidence is flawed the argument is considered faulty.