According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The speaker argues that after adopting an honor code in college by students, the cheating has reduced significantly over the years for Groveton College. To bolster his conclusion, the speaker suggest other universities and colleges to adopt honor code to attenuate cheating among students. Although the argument seems convincing at first sight, the porous premises and faulty reasons are reflected conspicuously on a meticulous analysis. The speaker needs to make the evidence more cogent for people or authority to assume this validity.

To Begin with, the argument has the possible flaw in comparing Groveton College to other colleges and universities. According to the assumption made by the speaker, other colleges and universities which do not have honor of code will yield similar result , regarding reduced student cheating, as Groveton college. It may be possible that Groveton college students are complying with honor code because they have strict parents who force students into being well behaved. It might not be the case for other colleges and universities. If students of other colleges do not obey the rules and regulation of honor code even if an honor code is adopted, then speaker's contention would be undermined.

Furthermore, the speaker provides the evidence about cheating reported by students is reduced from twenty per year to zero is not robust. Maybe, students are planning with each other and not informing the college authorities. Perhaps, cheating is prevalent in college, and even teachers are not able to notice it. Unless the speaker strengthen above scenario by convincing explanations, the argument does not hold water.

Moreover, how can speaker be sure that students are honest in the survey? Isn't it possible that students are hiding truth about them cheating in exams so that they won't be blamed? It is possible that students cheat and also wants to save their friends who always cheat without complying to honor code. To bolster conclusion ss should provide concrete evidence that students are honestly giving their survey report.

While the argument consists of gap between the assumptions and the conclusion, it should not necessarily mean the whole essay is faulty. In conclusion, the speaker jumps to conclusion with insufficient investigation of his evidences and faults the case on his own. If the speaker intends to consider above mentioned factors and justifies the unwarranted premises on which the argument bases on, the essay could become more reasonable and practical.