Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

In the letter, the editor concludes that unmanned space flight is better option for investment. At first glace, the opinion sounds breakthrough; however, after analyzing the evidence given by the editor in the prompt, the alternative explanation to the same issue undermines the reliability of the conclusion.

Initial problem with the argument is that the information related to manned space flight is scant. The information on why manned space flight is costly and dangerous not given. It may be possible that the manned space fight was build by people who were not proficient enough causing it to be disastrous one. Moreover, it may be possible that those who went to space in a manned space flight price was inflated and no proper rules were made regarding the prices. Also, the evidence provided in the prompt does not clearly state about wealth of information brought by humans in the space flight. It may be possible that human are able to gather much more information than those unmanned space flight. Unless the editor provides information about the manned space flight clearly, the contention made by the author is based on incomplete evidence and is considered fallacious.

Another problem with the opinion by the editor of a national aeronautics magazine is incomplete evidence about unmanned space probes and satellites - number of unmanned space probes and satellites which are considered to make conclusion is not stated. It may be possible that the number of unmanned space probes the author has mentioned in the letter is few. Also, the information about the unmanned space brings plethora of information could be limited. If humans were sent in the space, it might be possible that humans could bring even more information related to space than unmanned space probes. These scenarios, if true, would certainly weaken author's conclusion.

Lastly, author chooses unmanned space probes and satellites over manned space flight based on few parameters. There might is other options such as human and machine combined space flight which could gather even more information. Rejecting Manned space flight just considering costly and dangerous factor does not sound valid one because the humans might bring even more information combined with secure artificial space probes. If any of the give situation is true then author's argument does not hold water.

To sum, author's argument does not provide enough evidences to valid the conclusion that unmanned space is better than manned space flight. To substantiate the conclusion author should provide information about manned space flight and unmanned space probes.