"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the report, the author concludes that allocating a greater amount of the company's budget to advertising will increase public awareness about the movies made by them. At first glance, this may be a breakthrough finding for the issue; however, after examining the evidences given by the author, several other alternative explanation to the same issue undermines the reliability of the conclusion.

Initial problem with the author's argument is the possible assumption that people come to watch movie just because of the movie quality. It might be possible that those who came to watch movie were not satisfied with the services provided by them. They could have liked the movie but they were not satisfied with the services, hygiene or any other services they get while watching the movie. In order to correctly make this assumption the author should test whether there are other factors affecting the audiences. Unless the author provides evidence about public satisfaction with the services provided by them, evidence provided by the author is incomplete and argument is based on fallacious assumption.

Another problem with the author's argument is that the scenario about past is not stated clearly. It might not be possible to compare the situation in that place to past two years. It could be other factors such as diseases, financial crisis which is causing less audiences to watch movies. Even though, public wants to watch movies, might not afford it. Or they are in some serious pandemic period where only few healthy ones can come to watch movie. This scenario, if true, weakens the conclusion made by the author.

Lastly. author does not give clear evidence about the people who are being accessed, no information about type of movie and target audiences is provided. To make a solid conclusion, the author is providing incomplete evidence and is certainly misrepresenting the scenario. Thus, the conclusion is made on incomplete evidences.

Hence, to make the contention made in the memo ironclad, the author should provide clear evidence such as what genre of the movies are they making, who are their target audiences, who are the current audiences and so on. Moreover, the possible assumption that those who were giving positive review about the movies are their target audiences should be reassessed. Without providing these evidences, the loopholes remain in the author's argument and therefore, author conclusion does not hold water.