An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The initiative taken by the international development organization(IDO) is good and commendable. But, there are various factors that need to be considered to make this initiative a success.

One of the factor is the claim made by IDO that its new breed of millet will be readily adopted by people as it is the staple diet. To make that happen, one must consider that taste of the new breed of millet and compare it with the original one. If the taste is drastically different and is not liked by people, there are likely chances that people will stop using the new product. It must be ensured by IDO that the taste of new breed is better or at the least comparable with the original one.

Another factor is the cost involved in producing these new millet. It is mentioned that the new breed seeds are expensive and subsidies are given to farmers to buy these seeds. Are there subsidies good enough? Is the cost of the seed after subsidizing at the least equal or lesser that the cost of the original seed? The nation of Tagus is impoverish and it is likely that farmers will buy the seeds that are more cheaper. Thus, IDO must ensure that the cost of the seed after subsidies is lesser than that of original seeds.

It has been mentioned that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. To make this happen, the government but be stable willing to help. We are at this point unsure of the political situation in Tagus. If the situation is dire, it is likely that the government have more bigger problems to resolve before promoting the new millet. If the government of Tagus is stable, IDO must maintain good relationship with the gevernment and must ask its help in promoting the new breed of millet.

One of the assumption made in the argument is that the primary source of vitamin A in Tagus is through millet. There can be some other sources which provide vitamin A and are more cheaper than the new breed of millet. If that is the case, the market of Tagus will not adopt the new breed of millet and would prefer the other sources. IDO must ensure that they have exhausted other cheaper sources of vitamin A before going ahead with the plan of promoting new breed of millet.