An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

It might seem logical, at the first glance, to agree with the author of the letter to engineer a new breed of millet high in vitamin A to compensate the vitamin A deficiency among people in Tagus. However, the writer relies on what might be less credible evidence or even unproven assumptions that I will distinguish them below.

Firstly, the argument states that people would adopt the new breed of millet easily since millet is already a fixed food in Tagus, but the organization should consider the taste and the texture of the millet to be similar to the original millet. If people do not like the taste of new breed they would prefer to use the former millet and the program would fail. In order to succeed in this program, the organization should consider the taste of the millet to be better or the same as the original one and then initiate the program.

Secondly, it is stated in the argument that the seeds for the new breed of millet are expensive and farmers will be paid subsidies by the organization to cultivate these seeds, but the argument does not mention the number of subsidies. Perhaps the subsidies would not be enough for buying new seeds and farmers have to pay additional money. As this nation is impoverished, farmers cannot afford to buy seeds and the program would fail. Without ruling out this reason, the organization cannot simply justify its proposal.

Another factor that mentioned in the argument is that this program is considered for vitamin A deficiency. However, the organization can improve the vitamin A by other programs such as cultivating cheaper crops or improve the awareness of people about their health and the importance of vitamin A. In addition, the organization should improve its relationship with the government, because without government’s support the organization cannot follow any programs.

In order to improve the argument as a whole, the organization should collect data from a survey that ask people’s opinion about the program. Perhaps people can give feedback that assists the organization in making the better decision because this program is related to the people’s lives and people can support it by adopting the new breed and cultivate new seeds or reject it.

To put it briefly, despite the argument suffers from several problems, we cannot absolutely rely on it or reject it without perusing any additional assumptions. The author can strengthen his or her assertion by changing states referred to the mentioned solutions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.