TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away-Wa

It is quite often that when attending a class or a meeting, we may find that what the speaker states is inaccurate or with some errors. We would struggle on whether to point out the mistakes immediately, or simply keep mute. From my perspective, I would choose to talk to the speaker after the class or meeting.

The reason why I am not willing to point out the inaccuracy during the class or meeting is that the speaker may feel embarrassed when being interrupted. Also, the sudden interruption might cause unexpected disorder and unnecessary discussions, which would impede the normal progress of the class or meeting. Once I was in a biology class, and all the students were carefully listening to the professor. When we came to analyze a new creature, the professor defined it as a reptile, which is actually a mammal. Whit no hesitation, I pointed out the mistake made by the professor. It turned out that the professor felt so embarrassed when being challenged in front of many people. It seems that a more euphemistic and roundabout way might be a better choice.

In addition, saying nothing is no better than indicating the mistake immediately. It is very likely that other people in the class or meeting might be misled by unrecognized mistakes, leading to undesirable consequences. For instance, in a budget meeting, my cousin found out that there were some minor mistakes for the calculation of the fixed costs, but he did not point out it. And his silence caused huge lost for the whole project because miscalculated fixed costs led the whole team to set an inappropriate initial price. Obviously, keeping silence is not a better choice.

Admittedly, saying nothing seems to be the most plausible choice: it brings no embarrassment; it does not require you to conduct discussion with the speaker. However, as what have been mentioned above, many undesirable consequences would be caused due to that kind of silence. Also, by pointing out the mistakes to the speaker afterwards, both you and the speaker can benefit through deep discussion and broadened view about issue. In general, pointing out the mistakes afterwards is a better choice.

Above these reasons I have listed, I think strongly that it is wise to have a talk about the mistakes made in the class or the meeting with the teacher or leader in person afterwards.