TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

Nowadays, every individual tries to make some friendships in order to gain happiness and prevent from being lonely. Regardless this concept, a controversial question is raised what kind of relationships is more effective, friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time or making many new friends? From my perspective, friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time can be more influential for people’s happiness. I will elaborate on my point through two outstanding reasons.

The first and foremost reason is that people in deep friendship are more reliable. These individuals can talk about their weakness and strength to each other. They always feel comfortable and peacefully due to existence someone in their lives. When they face to some problems, they believe and confident themselves. Furthermore, they would be less anxious and worried and consequently happier in their lives. For instance, I have a perfect friendship with two best persons in my life from 8 years ago. We always support each other in different situations; in painful or happy events. So, I never feel lonely. We know all things about each other and we understand which mood other one has. As you can see, deep friendship brings reliability and dependency and then happy feeling in rest of life.

The second reason that to be mentioned is that in firm friendships people have less conflict with others. They know each other due to long period time’s relationship and also they know thoughts and beliefs of each other. Furthermore, they have less different notion and conflicts. So, they do not make each other upset and worry. For example, my father told me about his friendship in the past. He stated that he and his friends had few different ideas about different subjects; so, they often decided very well and in short time. Also, everyone accepted the decision without any harmful discussion. If we have long duration friendships we would have perfect time without any sadness and painful occurrences.

To put it briefly, long period time’s friendships have more influences on our feelings such as happiness due to reliability and less confliction between individuals. Lastly, conducting more surveys in this field could be recommended to reveal more precise outcomes of friendships and their effects on our feeling.