An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that to combat the vitamin A deficiency among the people in the nation of Tagus, their farmers are being encouraged to produce a new breed of millet which is rich in vitamin A. Since the people of Tagus consider millet as a staple in their diet, it will not be a problem adopting the new breed of millet and thus, it will eliminate the vitamin A deficiency among the citizens. A few questions need to be answered regarding this new breed of millet to evaluate its feasibility and effectiveness in the said nation.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the argument that the nation of Tagus is impoverished. Which means, it is a poor nation where people need to work hard to make ends meet. So, just stating that subsidies will be given to farmers is kind of vague because it is not told how much more costly the seed is. If the cost is considerably higher, it will be a situation of uncertainty because of the following reason. It is stated in the argument that the international development organisation has developed the seed. But the government of Tagus will be the one to pay the subsidies to the farmers to cultivate them. Since it is already in a weak economic state, providing considerable amount of funds for this cause would not be very easy.

In addition to the above, the seed might require additional care from the farmer due to its new composition and this might again require more finance from the side of the farmer. Also, if the farmers are not directly receiving the subsidies and they come through an officer, there is a chance that he takes some commission from that fund and gives the remaining to the farmers. So, the argument should clearly state where the subsidies are coming from, will they directly go to the farmers or not, how much more will the new seed cost and how much costlier will the cultivating and harvesting the new seed prove to be.

This is one side of the coin, the producing. The other side, the consumption will also raise a few issues. Firstly, since it is costing more for producing the millet, will it be sold at a higher price? The answer would most probably be a yes. If so, the public will be very skeptical about buying it given their current condition. Thus there will be very less people who will be consuming the new breed of millet and the move will have failed.

Another issue is that, will the new breed of millet taste the same and will it have any side effects? Whatever the food may be, if it has to be a staple, it should have minimum taste. Whether the additional component in the seed alter the taste isn't told in the question, so based on that, we can evaluate how ubiquitous its use in Tagus will be. Another important thing is the side effects of vitamin A rich millet. Nothing about the medical tests with the new food is mentioned in the argument. It would only worsen the situation if it has any deleterious effects on the consumers.

All in all, more information regarding the cost of buying the seed, cultivating the plant, the help provided to the farmers, the medical diagnosis of the food and the feasibility of having a market for it has to be given in order to properly evaluate the possibility of it eradicating the vitamin A deficiency among the people in the nation of Tagus.