An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

In this argument , the author stated that the poverty driven people of Tagus is facing Vitamin A deficiency . The international organization has engineered new Millet breed enriched with Vitamin A which would decrease the deficiency of vitamin A as these are their main staple food. However , before this recommendation can be properly evaluated , two question must be answered.

First of all,is Millet the only way to decrease Vitamin A deficiency ? In other words , is it possible that the deficiency of the Vitamin A can be alleviated using different food item enriched with Vitamin A? May be millet production can not be done in large quantity then the nation who are dependent on this new millet breed will also be deprived from getting these food. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do the more subsidies will influence the farmers to engage in millet production ? It doesn't mention that the cost of millet production is high or not . As the farmers are poverty driven they may not produce the millet in these areas. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold the water.

In Conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to use new breed of millet which will eradicate Vitamin deficiency.