An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In this recommendation, it is stated that the new breed of millet should be promoted for farming. The author has come to this conclusion from the facts that this new breed contains high amount of vitamin A and farming of millet will be welcomed as millet is one of staple food in Tagus. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, Is there clear evidence that net cost of preparing Vitamin A is less than other contemporary methods? Since it has already been said that in statement that the cost of seed is more, it might be the case that the total cost of producing vitamin A might be several times higher than other standard methods. If this scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original statement is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Is it necessarily true that millet being staple food in Tagus will make it readily acceptable farm? For instance, it might be the case that the soil of village is so unfertile that no other crops grows there except millet. Also it may be possible that the process of cultivating and harvesting millet is far more demanding than its return. Thus, if the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In addition, Are we sure of the fact that this new breed doesn't contain some ingredients that have adverse effect in long term? It is possible that this new breed contains a small amount of toxic element detrimental to human health which shows it's effect in long run. If this case happens to be true then the argument is out of the window.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence( perhaps in the form of systematic research) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation of suggesting to grow crops