A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise Currently the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away thus the proposed new jazz club in Monroe the C Note would have the local market all to itself Plus jazz is extremely popular in Mon

The proposal made by group of developers to make a jazz music club at Monroe is appealing. The speaker provides various evidence to support his proposal; however, when it is considered thoroughly, it consists of various assumptions, which must be validated, and various evidence about proposal should be discussed to make a proposal compelling.

At first, the speaker assume that since nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, people of Monroe would be happy to see a new jazz club C-note opening in their town. However, the speaker does not provide any survey about it. Since the people attend jazz club for recreational purpose, Monroe's people may have not any burden to ride for jazz club in weekend. Furthermore, there may have some special characteristic of distant jazz club that had attracted the Monroe's people such as facility, singer that cannot be provided by new proposed jazz club. In such cases, opening of jazz club in Monroe would not be profitable. Had the author provided any evidence about people sentiment about opening of jazz club in Monroe town, the proposal would have been compelling.

The speaker assert that more than 10000 people attended last year Monroe annual jazz festival and using this evidence, he believes that people would likely to attend jazz club in Monroe. However, the author comparison of annual jazz festival and jazz club is tenuous. The Jazz festival is celebrated one or few days in a year, where more people will attend since it is a rare festival. However, it does not provide any evidence that people will attend jazz club almost every day if it will be opened in Monroe. The author should have provided any other evidence about people desire for attending jazz club to make argument persuasive.

The presence of renowned jazz musician cannot be taken as telling evidence that if new jazz club is opened, then the club would be profitable. If people were interested in listening music from those musicians, why was a jazz club has not opened till now? May be the people are not interested towards them or people are complacent from listening high-rated jazz program in their radio.

The author presumes result of nationwide survey about spending in jazz is similar to that of Monroe town. However, the speaker does not provide any evidence to support it. May be the people of Monroe, suppose even though having penchant for jazz music, are not able to Spent around 500 dollars due to various factor such as unemployment, people's frugality. Had the speaker provided any reliable evidence about Monroe's people spending on jazz music, the proposal would have been strengthen.

Clearly, even though the speaker proposal about opening of jazz club was persuasive when read superficially, it consists of several flaws which are needed to be discussed to make argument compelling: Monroe's people desire to see new club in their town, wish to go club in regular basis, penchant for listening the music of renowned musician in their town, and will towards spending money on jazz.