Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Space has always facinated human beings. Right from galileo, who discovered that earth moves around the sun and not vice a verca to Nasa's explorations by sending mars orbitar in space. These space adventures are now in very exciting stage. People are even registering themselves in programm of SpaceX, a company by Elon musk, to go on a mars trip. In such a adventures times, should the space missions be manned or unmanned is a widely discussed topic.

The given opinion suggest manned mission are costly as comapared to unmanned misssions. This is not true in all cases. This assumption undermines the given opinion in letter. Space mission depends upon the requirements of the tasks. In certain cases it can be costly to figure out and find a way for all the problems an unmanned mission can face. Thus, a manned space flight may cost less that an unmanned flight in certain cases.

Further, the opinion belives that great useful information cab be gathered even without manned missions. This is quite debatable. Some task can only be done by human help in space, like some astraunaut send by NASA fixing the solar panel on International Space Centre. May be in future robots may be able to do these task, but currently that is not the case. We have progressed a lot in last century in space domain, but we still need human help in cetain task in space.

Building on this point, If a sudden change of plan in required it will be better to have a person on the spaceship, otherwise such efforts can be very limited or can be unfruitful in some cases. The letter also terms manned flights to be dangerous. In reality unmanned flights can also be as much as or more dangerous. We just don't know the extent in which they can dangerous. Few months ago, an autonoumously driven Uber car killed a pedestrian, This is great example of Unmanned, automatic things can also be dangerous. We will get the risks and dangers of unmanned flights as we sent more and more unmanned flights. Thus saying only manned flights are dangerous would be biased.

Even though it is correct there is a lot of cost and risk invovled in manned missions, it is essesntial in certain cases. A balance can be found within manned and unmanned missions. Research and development can be made in making more and more missions unmanned. We can invest more in such unmanned flights but the reason behind these investment cannot be solely based on assumptions in the provided letter.