Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Argument claims that unmanned space flight is more cost effective as well as less dangerous. Author also asserts that resources spent in developing unmanned space program will yield better results Author supports this claim by providing a weak evidence that unmanned space mission gathered useful information just as successfully as a manned space mission. This argument, while sounds great, does not Provide any credible evidence to support it.

Firstly, it is reasonable to assume that space missions entails a huge amount of risk to the astronauts involved, author fails to provide statistical data. Author claims that unmanned missions will ultimately Cost fewer resources while gathering similar amount of data. However, author dose not provide any information regarding the cost of manned missions or unmanned missions. While asserting how much Of a resource saving advantages unmanned missions have, author should have provided hard numbers to support this claim. Author also claimed that danger to men and women working on these missions

Would be avoided all the while choosing to omit the facts explaining how dangerous a space mission actually is.

Secondly, author makes it clear that data gathered from the autonomous space flight is ‘useful’. While information being useful is completely subjective. author has not provided any study that confirms if the Quality of the information provided is as good as if not better than that of a manned mission. To support this argument author has to provide results of a study conducted specifically to review gathered information.

Moreover, programming robots to retrieve data might be a good application of the available technology but does not guaranty anything. Robots by definition are programmed to work within a given scope of Variables. expecting them to work adequately in an alien environment, which we don’t know quite about, is a display of arrogance.

To conclude, automation in space missions is a good idea and space agencies should work to develop the technology. To state that we should abandon manned missions completely and focus on unmanned

Is completely false.