Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations we cannot permit i

The author posits that inoculations against cow flu cannot be routinely permitted. To bolster his claims he has put forward few opinions that there is a small possibility that person will die of inoculation. However, the argument is flawed and has many immaterial aspects to be reviewed before it can be considered veracious.

Firstly, the author has never mentioned the exact count of people who succumbed to the flu. There might be myriad number of people who can get effected with this flu. What if the number of people who are administered the vaccination have more survival chance than the number effected with flu ? This would certainly lead to an confound situation of prioritizing the more beneficial one. It is best to take the shot at this moment than to live with uncertainty of getting effected. If this is considered a viable fact the argument would be undermined.

Secondly, the population and the ratio of young to old is never discussed. What if the people who are never given the vaccine shot also succumb to death because of getting old ? There are high possibilities that people either effected or unaffected would finally pass away after their tenure. After getting old most of the group would always face some medical criticalities and would in return get admitted in hospital which also have patients effected with cow flu. Thus, increasing the chances of more decimation. This controversy would further weaken the author's view.

Furthermore, as it is mentioned that there is a slight chance of death after vaccination. Considering the extreme negative effects even if administered to a certain amount of population What if they never show up ? They might have got frightened more with willing death than with the cow flu which they can't take control over. They would try to mitigate the chances of getting effected as much as possible but there is always a certainty.

To conclude, In my opinion the argument is fallacious with many unwarranted assumptions and unanswered questions. This can only be considered tenable if author provides more evidence and answers to these misleading questions.