Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

though the opinion to the editor of the national aeronautics magazine seems sound at the first glance, it seems to have its fallacies at explaining major things as a part of the statement.

The author states that - manned space flights are costly and dangerous. it fails to provide light on what forms the dangerous parts of the whole process. Considering that the whole department of aeronautics works around an expensive infrastructure, rare propellants, costly researches carried out to validate certains theories and hypothesis, just ending the phrase by saying that the flights with humans on them are pricey doesn't cut the deal.

Secondly, the paragraph talks about the recent success of the unmanned space probes and satellites and how these have helped us gain a huge set of useful information without the problems asociated with the manned flights, but it fails to explain two things -

a. it doesn't talk about how much money was spent on the unmanned robots compared to manned ones. hence fails to highlight the quantitative analysis of the problem and solution.

b. it doesn't give any information about the useful information which according to the passage helps. if the information we needed was to know if the oxygen content on a given extraterrestial object and to monitor if plants grow in the surrounding or to understand the behavior of man on space and say for example, if the information we got from the probes was how much is the phosphorous content on the object, though the data received may help, it is superflous to us, having no real significance.

Lastly, investing of the resources should be based on the report of the previous efforts. This opinion doesn't provide any information about the previous effort apart from the ones discussed earlier. There is no information about how much investment is required and how will that be used. it also doesn't

On an ending note, though author tries to entice the reader by saying that the unmanned probes are better than manned space flights, they fail to stress on the points that are required to make the call. Neither do they provide statistical background nor do they provide alternative supporting statements, hence they fail to do a good job in helping the reader understand the opinion.