The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

this paragraph talks about how the manager of WWAC radio station wants to stress that a change of one kind of music genre to a different one isn't going to result in an increase in the audience, but rather states encourages the usage of a news-and-talk format. The manager has come to this conclusion based on the evidence that radio is increasingly popular in the area of use of the station and also due to the fact that as people have been moving into this area after retirement, these new residents are parochial and was narrow interest in music. However, before we move ahead with evaluating the argument, there are a three questions that need to be answered.

First of all, how do we know if the new residents are actually pedantic when it comes to the taste of music? do we have any census reports providing this, which was collected from the individuals themselves? Closure of several local stores that sold music seems to be one of the reasons why the head thinks that the localites don't have a broadmind with music. but the local stores might have shut down due to the paradigm shift in technology - the people might be interested in listening to songs on go through their phones instead of having to buy an extra piece of hardware. The members maybe tuning into other stations for listening to their predilected music which is not stated otherwise anywhere.

Secondly, how do we know if the news and talk shows will be accepted by the residents? The residents might be the kinds of people who are into reading newspapers and magazines rather than listening to radio and music, we do not know how well received the news and talk shows are with this community.

Lastly, have we witnessed any dip in the listeners in the other stations too? is the trend visible everywhere or is it polarized between current station and others? if the number of listeners that listen to other stations related to rock styles increased over the past few months, it just means that the community that has joined this area might be interested in music all together ,just not our station.

With the current information provided for evaluation, the argument seems to have its share of fallacies but if the manager could provide answers to the questions posed and also offer more points for evaluation, then it would make it conspicuous to evaluate the argument better to see if the paradigm shift of introducing news-and-talk format works.