A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The argument which, on the basis of unwarranted assumptions, concludes that the movie will be a failure if more funding is not procured is not cogent. These assumptions, taken together, render the argument false and cause it to lack coherence.

The conclusion is based on a flawed correlation that since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, the director too will waste a lot of time. It does not state why and how the business is wasteful and what the director may have to do with it. It is true that the director was a part of that business before but it is possible that the reasons...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.