The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The argument stating that illegal immigrants pose a threat to the country's economy and national identity is based on unwarranted assumptions. These assumptions, unless accounted for, cause the argument to lack cogency.

The assumption that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders is deeply flawed. The autonomy of any country depends on several parameters, one of which is the strength of its borders. It is possible that a country with a strong border may be crippling from inside due to widespread famine. Unless specific evidence is provided regarding how the strength of a country's border is the only factor on which the autonomy is based, a conclusion cannot be drawn.

The writer claims that illegal immigrants will pose grave threats and endanger the nation. No information about the number of immigrants that will pose as danger to the country is provided. It is possible that the number of immigrants entering are small and do not pose a threat to the nation. These immigrants may have entered the country because they were persecuted in their homeland and thus chose another place for refuge. In such a case, providing shelter to such immigrants will only help better the claim of autonomy of the country in the eyes of the world and show that the nation can provide for itself and others. No other act would demonstrate the autonomy of our country as well.

The writer also states that these immigrants pose a threat to the country's economy and national identity. However, no evidence regarding this has been provided. There have been cases where illegal immigrants have contributed to the workforce of countries where they reside by taking joining in as labourers. They have thus helped the respective countries improve their economies. Unless reasons and examples are cited to prove that illegal immigrants have brought about the downfall of countries, the assumption will remain flawed.

These examples go on to show that unless evidence is provided to demonstrate that illegal immigrants will bring about a country's ruin, we cannot ascertain from the flawed assumptions provided above that the argument will hold true.