A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument of the movie producer is that funding for the movie Working Title should be increased by 10%. He gives the reasons that if the funding is increased it will be a quality product and the first-time director would be able to spend more time on all scenes. Also he states that if they don't get extra money, the money is assured to be a failure. The argument at first looks convincing but on studying we discover a lot of fallacies.

The first loophole of the argument is that the movie producer assumes that working with a first-time director, who has only done commercial for shampoo company will ensure a quality end product. How will he be able to direct a movie? Instead they should have hired some experienced director, who has experience in movie making. By increasing the funding What is the guarantee that the first-director will make a quality product? Shooting for commercial and shooting for movie both are poles apart.

Also the author assumes that the director will be able to shoot take after take without concern of the time. If the director will waste time in many takes Will the movie be ever made? Also the actor of the movie will be frustrated with the director which will affect the end result. The author also assumes that the advertising business is notoriously wasteful .On what basis has he made this assumption? What is the relation of the advertising business with the movie?

Furthermore, the producer goes to say that they have saved money by hiring inexperienced assistant producers and directors. How will the movie be a success if such people are working behind it? Also he says that this savings in salary would translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things.Why will the actors and crew wait when things are not arranged just for money?

The movie producer, in the end says that if funding is not provided then it is sure to fail, but even if funding is given Will it be a success with inchoate and incipient crew and directors? The whole unit can't be only filled with inexperienced people. These people should be made to work under experienced people first before handing a movie of this scale.

The argument can be strengthened by answering the above questions. He should make a detail analysis of factors for a movie to be successful and on the basis of those factors he should write to the head of the movie studio. As it stands however, the argument is flawed.