Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author is making a proposal that the new Nature’s Way store in Plainsville will be most successful because of the healthy living of Plainsville residents. It is stated that the store will be profitable in this healthy living areas because other franchises tend to do so, the people of plainsville exercise a lot and the children of plainsville are required from school to lead a healthy life. However in his eagerness to make this proposition more firm he falls into some fallacies and assumption that could greatly implicate and alter his conclusion.

The author is making a weak analogy fallacy while trying to support his opinion. He mentions Nature’s Way stores are more profitable in areas where the residents eat healthy and exercise more and then he indicates that Plainsville is such a place. Clearly this is an assumption, because for example Nature’s Way stores could be profitable in areas where smoking is at its highest or the people in Plainsville have a high risk of heart-attacks due to extreme exercising. Thus, he bases his conclusion that the new Nature’s Way store will be profitable in an assumption that all the other Nature’s Way franchises are profitable in healthy living areas. This may not be applicable to plainsville.

The author uses a report to support his opinion. Let’s just assume that the context of these reports is undisputable thus making the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing to be at its highest. The author assumes that the Nature’s Way store will be succesfull because other stores are succesfull in plainsville too. He makes the connection that if these stores sale a lot of exercise related goods then the people of Plainsville lead a healthy life. This may not be true, for example, the people of Plainsville may exercise a lot but after exercising they may go to fast foods and eat twice the amount of calories they burnt. A more suitable report would be about the type of food consumption or about the sales of fast food stores in Plainsville.

Finally the author is mentioning schoolchildren and the health program the school is making them participate. Clearly, he believes that the population of children of Plainsville along with their parents will be sufficient enough not only to support the expenses of making and running a new Nature’s Way franchise store but also make it profitable. Let’s just say for example that Plainsville is a small village 1 hour away from the city of Metrotown which is a much bigger city in terms of population. A store in plainsville could not afford even the expenses of its own because of the very little population of the people of Plainsville. So, it is not guaranteed that the store will be profitable.

In conclusion, the author made a series of stated or unstated asuumptions in order to support his opinion that the Nature’s Way store will be successful. He assumed that the people of Plainsville eat healthy because they exercise a lot and that the Nature’s Way store will be profitable in such an area and then he didn’t take into consideration the geographical position of Plainsville nor the amount of its population. These assumption greatly affect the cocnlcusion and they may as well refrain the company from investing into building such a store in Plainsville.