Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

The writer suggests that Nature's way new franchise in the town of Plainville will be successful depending on unreliable assumptions. While it might be true that many people who exercise and work out on regular basis tend to live a healthy lifestyle, it is not guaranteed that stores which sell health-related products will be very successful in a community where these residents live.

First, the writer stated that residents of Plainville tend to exercise regularly according to the merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. Residents may enjoy activities which require running or walking such as; hiking, bike riding, or different sports, at the same time, there are not exercising to be healthy. Even if, residents tend to exercise to lose weight or to stay fit and active, this doesn't necessarily mean they eat healthy food and use healthy products. This weakens the writer's assumption that residents tend to buy healthy products regularly.

Furthermore, if residents lead healthy lives in Plainville, it is not a proof of the writer hypothesis that they are going to shop from healthy products stores. For example, many people eat healthy food which they make it at home and many healthy diets contain foods which you can find in any store, not specifically healthy-products stores.

Second, what if the increasing numbers in the local health club and the weight training and aerobics classes are due to the increase in the residents' number? what if there are some members who are non-residents in these classes?. The writer would strengthen his argument if he included the rate of residents' number change in his statement, or if he excluded other factors affecting this increase, to support his point.

Finally, requiring schoolchildren to participate in a fitness-for-life program will emphasize the benefit of regular exercising but it not surely promote their interest in regular exercising, or elevate their tendency to a healthy lifestyle. For example, many students may not be interested in exercising when they finish school. Also, even if they adopted a healthy lifestyle, this will not make them potential customers for Nature's way exclusively for the same reasons which stated previously. Moreover, the argument of writer would be more cognitive if he mentioned that there is a lack of healthy food at local stores.

In conclusion, while Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where people tend to live healthily, the writer did not have sufficient proofs that the residents of Plainville lead a healthy lifestyle.