Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Leadership is vital to the success of any enterprise, whether it is in business, politics, education or government fields. It is argued that in any field, those in power should step down after five years. I can't totally agree with this argument, change is not always for the best.

The claim that the surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership is not true. Some leaders with great experience and creative thinking, Who might reach the apogee of experience and knowledge, furthermore, they win the confidence of their people through years, can't be replaced with new leaders just for the power of change. New leaders will take time to gain the same experience and to comprehend the core values and missions of the system. This might hinder the progress of the system. For instance, we can ask a successful and dedicated school principal, who has a comprehensive knowledge of the school system and a phenomenal leadership experience, to step down after five years and replace him with a new principal who will start from zero.

Controversy, some may argue that the New leaders work with tremendous vigor. They can revive the system with new ideas, different problem-solving techniques, and innovative technologies. This kind of change is crucial because of the rapid development of new technologies, new inventions and new theories these days. This can be attained by getting the suitable assistance and the continuous updates of leadership knowledge to cope with the developing technologies.

Leaders may tend to misuse their authority while in power because of the reduced fear of accountability. For example, many countries presidents became dictators when they stayed in their positions for long terms. This problem can be overcome by the effective accountability and system audits. for instance, Congress in the USA has the authority of impeaching the president and question his authority.

At last, the power of change is important for any enterprise, but we can't make a general rule that every leader should step down after a period of time.