"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Targeting a business based on the lifestyle of people is clever way of doing or strategizing business. Some of the businesses as part of their marketing strategy even try to create a lifestyle change among people that suits their products salability. E.g.: Products like corn flakes sales in India in order to increase their market, they pitch the product in a way that demands a lifestyle change. They market the product by saying, “when consumers consume this product, they choose a lifestyle; it is a lifestyle choice to be healthy and “high-life style” choice”. Concentrating on the lifestyle changes or pitching a product based on the lifestyle promises more steady sustainability of the product because we are selling the product based on the attitude of people and it takes time for attitude to change which means longevity in sales of a particular product is more.

Going by this argument, I think the case about starting a healthy life style store targeted at the healthy life style of residents is justified. But, before starting the business one can’t solely rely on this alone. Their life style demand might suit the supplies of the store but one need to understand their existing consumption pattern. What kind of things do residents choose to live a healthy live it can vary food to equipment. One need to understand what products they consume, where do they buy it from, do they prefer brands, which product has more demand, which product they are finding it difficult to buy. Based on the needs assessment and through market research the store should be designed based on that. Starting a business based on life style is valid but it has to be backed by the other accurate data on which the business can be built. Need assessment and studying the existing consumption pattern not only will help in designing the business but also it would give one the idea of how to market the store and whom to target.

Hence it is essential that one needs more information on the above stated points to build or promote a business as it helps in identifying the gaps and one must systematically try to address them.