Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument of opening a Hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon seems convincing at first. However, the argument fails to provide any solid evidence as to how the prediction of a shop in Grilldon area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers.

First, the argument states the discovery of no present hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. The author does not provide enough information that why there has been no trace of hobby shops in that particular area. It is possible that there were hobby shops present in the area before, but failed to attract customers. The author also mentions "southeastern", possibly there are hobby shops present in other parts of the city which might also result in not so success of the HobCo Hobby Shop.

Secondly, the author here mentions 88 percent of those who responded would welcome the opening of hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. However, the number is insufficient as to what population comprises of the 88 percent. It is absolutely necessary to provide the numbers, it is very well possible that only 200 people out of say 10000 population voted and out of which 88 percent of the population is welcoming the idea, which is very less.

Again, the author states an ambiguous statement of Grilldon being in that region of the nation where the hobby business has increased by 300 percent in the last decade. However, fails to provide evidence if 300 percent increase in the southeaster Grilldon or any other part of the city. 300 percent rise could also be in the norther region of Grilldon. Also, author does not mention if there was a steady increase for the need of HobCo Hobby shops in the area for the past decade, why someone has never took an initiative to start the hobby shops. What evidence is there, that if the hobby shops are to be started now, it would be a huge success as there already has been 300 percent increase for the past decade? There is no solid proof to that as well.

Additionally, the author suggests as Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, HobCo shops will be a great success as they would have ample time to dedicate to the particular business. But, author should also take into consideration of the buyers, as to what population will consider investing money in buying HobCo products. True, retirees will be able to dedicate most of the time to the business but to run a business author should also consider about the population which will help in revenues.

To sum it up, the author must provide some valid evidence and facts to support the argument. Without which it would be too biased to conclude and support the above argument.