Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the majority of the population in Centerville is composed of youngsters or working professionals who use mobile phones while walking in the same way how people used to do in Middletown, rendering the conclusion, that imposing a ban on using cell phones while walking, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the Middletown and Centerville have similar kind of people who have the habit of using mobile phones while walking on the sideways. Even if we assume that they use mobile phones while walking, we are not assured that the crimes happen only because the usage of mobile phones as it has got nothing to do with the other crimes like assaults and property damage.

The argument claims without evidence that the crimes happen only because of the usage of mobile phones while walking. Even if they use phones while walking, the pedestrian traffic might get slowed down to some extent but that does not assure that the pedestrians always bump into each other causing rage among the pedestrians.

The argument is still lacking because it does not provide information about how banning of cell phones in Middletown has reduced the number of sidewalk crimes as cell phones alone are not the only reason for crimes like assaults and property damage to happen. Furthermore, it is assumed that a similar ban on cell phones in Centerville will also reduce the crimes without knowing the exact reason behind these kind of sidewalk crimes in Centerville.

Because the argument makes several unwanted assumptions regarding the cause of sidewalk crimes in Centerville by comparing with those in Middletown, it fails to make a convincing case that imposing a similar kind of ban on cell phones in Centerville will reduce the number of sidewalk crimes.