"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in the environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated that the Crust Copper Company (CCC) have already purchased lands in tropical areas for the use of exhaling copper, and this will result in environmental disaster that corrupts the living environment for endangered animal species, and the author suggests that this can be prevented by stop using the products with their copper to let them stop mining from those regions. There are several missed assumptions not stated.

First, the writer assumed that the pollution will inevitably happen by acknowledging that there are no techniques can be applied to ameliorate the negative outcomes, and, thus, the mining will definitely decrease the number of endangered animals. However, as the environmental engineering and mining engineering is improving these years, it can be less harmful to the environment when some latest environmental controlling equipment are applied to control the pollutants while mining, and there are possibilities that the contaminants released during production are able to be controlled to the environmentally friendly level. Therefore, it is not sure that the mining will cause significant disasters to the environment or it can be ameliorated by using the latest technologies, and more researches are needed to support the conclusion.

Second, the author said that since many animals are living in the West Fredonia, they will be affected by the mining progress, without providing the exact geological distributions of animals and the mining location. If the tropical nation has a very high density of endangered animals in a small area where the mining group will not be able to approach, the mining progress will have little effects on the animals, which will not be strong enough to have a tremendous effect on the ecology of the nation. Thus, more information about the location of animals and mining company should be provided to support the argument.

Third, the author provided the assumption that people can refuse to use the product of CCC's to stop them from doing harm to the environment in the tropical nation. However, this is not easy to be achieved. Copper is being used in the world everywhere, from the medical equipment to the circuits in our house, and, if CCC is the leading company in the field of mining, it is impossible for people to not use its product without abandoning some of the benefits that we currently have. In addition, this abrogation of using their products will not help protect the animals in West Fredonia, because we are not sure where the raw materials of copper are coming from exactly, and the efficiency for protecting the animals will be extremely low. Moreover, if we stop using the product from CCC, other companies will view this as a chance for them to enter the market, and they might find other places to start mining and even destroy the environmental balance in other countries.

The author should deliberately evaluate the outcome if he or she is going to resist their product, and the decision needs to be carefully made in order to prevent further effects to the environment.