"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In an editorial, it is stated that, in order to attract more viewership to the late night news program and to prevent further decline of advertisement revenues, an expansion of the weather and local news coverage on all news program should be made. This conclusion was made based on the complaints received from viewers who were concerned about the station's broadcast on weather and local news, and also due to the cancellation of several local business advertisements that used to run during the late night news program. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what are were the reasons for the complaints by those watching? It is likely that those laying complains were just a little fraction of the news listeners and were merely bothered about the presentation pattern of the weather news rather than the actual news. For instance, in the past, the weather ad local news were broadcasted by two people, one whom exchanged pleasantries and talked abit about recent happenings, but now the forecaster just goes straight to the news. Furthermore, the author was not lucid enough to affirm how much criticism was actually received from those watching, it may have been just two people, who thought the way the news were read did not seem appropriate to them. If the above mentioned scenarios are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, were the number of local businesses who called off their contracts stated? In other words can the number of contracts that were annulled really affect the late night news? It is possible that contracts were cancelled not because the weather and local news were not aired, perhaps due to costing. Maybe, the broadcasting company increased the amount they charge for advertisements and these local firms could not keep up with the new charges and consequently did not renew their agreement. Moreover, there may be a likelihood that the justification for aborting the advertisement contract was because the local business had a premonition that the company had lost a lot of viewers hence, not many individuals will watch their advert and get to know about the services they render. If the above reasons are true and valid, then the original argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, how is the expansion of the weather and local news coverage going to draw the attention of more viewers? It is likely that broadening of the coverage for weather and local broadcast may not make people to view the television channel as it is mainly for weather forecast and what usually catches the attention of spectators is how lively and interesting a show is. For example, a reality television will have more viewership than a so called weather forecast. Therefore, there may not be a certainty of gaining the attention of spectators back. If the above stated is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to the three questions above and provide more evidence then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation.