“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The late-news program has concentrated more on national news in lieu of weather and local news. It is noted that the program has been frowned upon by the audience due to lessening the content they accustomed to see. Moreover, as a result of the modification in this program, most advertisement entities have refused to prolong their partnership with this program. I am of the opinion that even if the program returns its previous content, the program owner less likely to retrieve its viewers and revenues.

The first reason why late-night news program cannot do so is most of their former audience may have already been following another TV channel offering weather, as well as local news. If the program remains the format of provision information about weather and local news, it could be tiresome, which may have countereffects instead. This program needs a transformation in their content which has not introduced previously, and this boost the rate of the program in order that the number of viewers will increase considerably. Unless doing so, the program is less likely to have more viewer than they have experienced before.

Another cause of ineffectiveness of returning previous level of weather and local news can be that most companies paying for the program to endorse their products have already made an agreement with another program offering their services for remarkably reasonable price. It would be easy to attract advertisement companies; therefore, the program may return them again, but revenue could not be the same as they used to. To maintain the former price for advertisement, the program should raise its popularity by providing breaking national news which is followed by numerous people.

Restoring the time may not be solely solution for the issue; hence, the program should deem other strategy to combat the problem.