Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

The argument concludes that to attract more viewers to the late night news program, the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, this argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Without these essential evidences, the argument remains unpersuasive.

Firstly, the author mentions that after to the curtailing time devoted to weather and local news local business that used to advertise during their late night show have canceled their advertising contracts. However, this correlation is not substantiated by any reliable evidence. The reason why local business have canceled contracts may not be due to the fact that the tv station has decreased its time on weather and local news. Ir is possible that due the low quality of the national news portion which now occupies of greater portion of time this cancelling of contracts have happened. The author did not specify the reason behind the cancellation. If the author had shown that the cancellation has happened specifically for the reason of curtailing time devoted to weather and local news then the argument could have been much more convincing.

Secondly, the author readily jumps into the conclusion that if the tv station restored its original show time allocation then it would be able to attract more viewers to the program. However , there is no reason to believe that only because of these steps are taken the station would gain popularity. Gaining popularity and acheiving business success for a tv station is a fairly unpredictable scenario. It is dependent on so many factors that there cannot be assumed a linear relationship. If the author had presented any reliable data from other television station's popularity gain correlated with their shows then it would have been a bit cogent. It is possible that as the television station is focusing more on national news, it would get a nationwide popularity due to that. Consequently, the station would be able to generate more review from the advertisers. The author of the argument assumes that the channel has not the capacity to garner nationwide recognition. Again, it is possible that as the channel restores it original structure of shows it would lose popularity among newly gained fans.

In conclusion, the argument relies on so many unstated assumptions and the author did not provide convincing evidence supporting his opinion. In order to assess the merits of a particular decision it is necessary to complete knowledge of all the contributing factors. If the author had provided reliable data or survey results along with his/her suggestions then the argument would have been much more convincing.