Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won t benefit their future careers Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree

The issue whether undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Science should be required to take any courses in the humanities is a contentious one. Each side of the argument has its own strengths and weaknesses. Nevertheless, making some humanities course mandatory is really beneficial. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the statement and would argue that humanities courses are integral part of human education regardless of which branch of study a student belongs to.

First of all, the study of humanities has been an integral part of human scholarly pursuit. Since the dawn of civilization, humanities subjects which are now divided into subgroups like economics, social science, political science, philosophy had guided the human civilization and helped in many decision making processes. In the twenty first century although the demand for science and technology is skyrocketing, the study of humanities is still relevant. No one is separated from human society no matter how geeky scientist/ inventor he/she might be. A person has to live in the society, abide by its rules, pay taxes etc. The study of humanities informs a student of all these essential knowledges. For example, if an undergraduate student who is majoring in software engineering does not have any knowledge regarding the ethics and laws of cyber security then he/she may be vulnerable to committing cyber crime unwittingly. If the student had proper knowledge regarding the laws of cyber crime then he may not have done so in the first place. Again, many technological inventions have severe implications on the human society. Some inventions although seem promising the short term, may be proven harmful for the humankind in the long term. The study of humanities and ethics help us grow a sense among undergraduate students of this particular scenario. Again, the same can be said about particular business decisions which have far greater implications on the human society. Some business decisions may be harmful to the society, in this context the study of humanities is quite relevant. Moreover, a person regardless of his/her major should have a working knowledge of economics which is very essential for managing finance, understand financial strategies in a particular organization.

Furthermore, apart from apprising social duties and responsibiliities, the study of humanities help a science/ business graduate develop a sense of emotional intelligence which is very crucial in day to day lives. Psychology helps business decision makers in marketing. Philosophy lays the foundation of all branches of knowledge including science. In fact, many scientists or inventors were philosophers themselves. Pascal, Rene Descartes, Leibnitz are to name a few.

In conclusion, although some undergraduate students majoring in STEM or business may find it burdensome to have additional humanities course alongside their regular coursework, it will certainly be proven beneficial in the long run. Taking all the reasons into consideration, requiring science and business majors to take necessary humanities courses is justified.