Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The author argues that undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take courses related to Humanites for the reason that these courses won't benefit their future careers. The argument may seem reasonable at first glance, when thinking of the purpose of education, one may find this argument not acceptable.

First of all, the purpose of education is not just for vocational training, but for teaching students to be an independent adult. For most of the undergraduate students, they will face the real world after graduation. In real world, people tend to focus more on visible skills rather than humanity traits. However, it's the humanity traits that help us stay still when we lose our direction.

Furthermore, those without the sense of humanities may be successful to some extent, but may cause bigger problems. Imagine a CEO who only cares about the revenue and be negligent of employees' welfare and business morality. To illustrate, Elizabeth Holmes has been a promising start-up founder. However, she lied to the stakeholders about the progress of the blood-testing techonology, and had her employees to work relentlessly. She fell down after what she've done was known by the public. In this circumstances, we could know that teaching students about Humanities is necessary.

Admitedly, for the students majoring in Business or in the Sciences, Humanities won't benefit future careers directly. In this circumstances, focusing on their specialties may allow them to use their limited time effectively. However, it still can only be a short-sighting decision because of the above-mentioned reasons.

In conclusion, universities should not only equipp students for skills and knowledge they need in their future, but also teach them enough humanities traits to help them be independent adults.