Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

We are now living in an era that we can know everything just by searching on the internet. Whether it is important to know about events happening around the world is always a long-debated issue. However, I personally disagree that we should know everthing happening even thousands of miles aways from us. I feel this way because of the reasons I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, most information is not relative to our daily life. Knowing the news around the world has been tempting because our brains get excited if we absorb new information, though it may do little help to us. For example, sometimes I browse the news websites, and end up reading articles one after another. Some of them are stories like famous celebrities broke up with their spouses, which is fun to know indeed. However, I don't know them and there is nothing to do with me. As a result, I just end up wasting my time watching someone else's life.

Furthermore, events or news reported can be misleading. This is because only things that don't happen that often get reported. To illustratre, in the book Factfulness, it mentioned that the reality of the other side of the world can be very different from what people suppose them to be. People may think other countries are more dangerous than their own countries. For they only get to know other counrties from news like gunshots or wars. However, that can not provide the whole picture of them.

Last but not least, everyone's time and energy is limited. While caring about what happens around the world, focusing on things that happen in front of us is more important. For example, my cousin has no job so he stays home and watches a lot of new about politics around the world. What's more, he always gets angry and even debates online with people he doesn't know. That is very time-consuming and not productive. It would be more meaningful if he saves the time and energy and tries to find a job to make a living.

In summation, there is no need to know about every events happening around the world, especially those will not affect our daily life, due to the reasons mentioned above.