Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether it is better to use printed materials to do research than it is to use the internet. Indisputably, printed materials is generally more reliable than posts or articles that may not be examined or proofed on the internet. Nevertheless, it is more efficient to search for the information we need on the internet. Thus, I generally disagree that using printed materials are better than using the internet.

First and foremost, the majority would agree with the notion that searching for information on the internet is quick and efficient. One only needs to type in a few keywords, and thousands of related websites will appear in a second. To illustrate, the searching engines like google work restlessly on the better algorithm to help users find the most related information they need. Consequently, using the internet means relying on the latest technology to find the correct information in the shortest time.

On top of this, the latest information is always updated on the internet, way faster than waiting for the books to be published. Specifically, the latest journals, research results, and news are posted online. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that we can always be sure that we have access to the latest information we need.

Admittedly, many will argue that the information on the internet can be false or misleading. This is true especially because the printed materials are relatively well-examined, fact-checked before published. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to claim that printed materials are better because the printed materials can be biased as well. While using the internet, we can find the opposite opinion in a minute, thus avoiding the risk of being misled.

In summation, yes, it’s impossible to provide a completely satisfying answer to an open-ended question. Although the jury may still be out on this given topic, we can come to a mutual agreement that it is better to use the internet than it is to use printed materials to do research due to the reasons and details mentioned above.