Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

In terms of great leaders, it might remind us of those who had made the world change. Some leaders are successful because of their ability and also dedicated to charity work like Bill Gates. On the other hand, Bezos had undoubtedly made a great contribution to the world by producing one of the influential company of 21 century. Still, he is also notorious for extramarital affair scandals. I would say the leader's ability is necessary to maintain the respect of his or her peers, but we could never view a leader's ability and moral judgment separately.

As a Chinese proverb goes, you must first manage yourself, then you can manage family, a country, and the world. It shows how important a person should know how to control himself or herself first to direct others. Moreover, A leader's job is to let team members create the max value instead of getting everything done by oneself. So a leader doesn't have to be the most skilled person in a team but should be the one who knows best about every team members' advantages.

Leaders decide the team's direction, and sound moral judgment is what it takes to win members' trust and go a long way. A blood-testing start-up Therano's founder, Elizabeth Holmes, was once lauded as "the next Steve Jobs." After making an immoral decision to deceive investors and the public about the technology progress, the scandal exploded and finally caused the company to be shut down. Elizabeth might be able to lie to outsiders, but she could never lie to her employees. And that's why Therano was frequently recruiting - because the employees often didn't stand too long. This exemplified how a leader's morality affects followers' loyalty and even the team's faith.

Ability is definitely what makes a leader, but I would surely add weight to sound moral judgment when it comes to maintaining respect from peers. Only when a leader has a strong faith in the right value, he or she can lead the company in the right way.