Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views may be devaststing. Admittedly, very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs. However, to state that this kind of conversations are not useful would be imprudent because it set the goal on the wrong thing. The goal should never be changing other's mind, having conversation itself is meaningful.

First, it is necessary to gain different perspectives. For instance, democracy is cherished by most of the people in the world nowadays. And the best thing about democracy is that different ideas are compatible in a society. Listening to people who have the contrasting views allow us to see the world in versatile angles.

Second, articulating one's own idea is a good way to help organize one's thinking. When phasing the idea, we are able to consider the topics again, therefore figure out points lack reasoning, or even strengthen our belief.

Finally, this is the best chance to have deep conversations with others. Nowadays, with the pervasiveness of social media, relationships became shallow and full of small talks. The opportunity to share ideas and discuss is rare. In the premiss of understanding of each other, this could be a way to deepen the relationship.

In conclusion, having conversations on controversial topics is useful to vertalize our life. While we can never change how other think, pondering on the same topic and have deep conversations give us good reason to do it.