Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It’s a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Where government should spend money on has been a issue debated for a long time. While space exploration is important to some extent, I agree that it’s a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore below.

First and foremost, while almost everyone has to pay tax, most of the people don’t benefit from space travel or space exploration. For instance, building a park directly allows the residents to have a place to relax, do exercise and embrace nature. Another example would be that if the government make everyone vaccinated, the whole country can stop agonizing from coronavirus. However, only a few astronauts can go to space. Therefore, most of the people may feel disconnected to it. In other words, instead of spending finite resources on space exploration, focusing on what makes the people live better is more important.

Secondly, where governments spend money implies what the society cares, and what do best for the whole society. For example, since Brazil is famous for their outstanding soccer players, the government might place emphasis on the soccer industry and fund the athletes more than other countries. Therefore, Brazil may earn fame through it, and many people would go to visit the country. Finally the whole country thrives because of it.

Last but not least, comparing to the potential outcome of space exploration, it costs huge amount of money and takes a long period of time. To illustrate, some people would argue that if another planet that human beings can survive is found, it may be a solution to the problem of the finite sources on Earth. Nevertheless, even if that planet does exist, it would take unimaginable amount of money to find it, turn it to somewhere human beings can live, and even send people there.

In summation, spend money on space travel or space exploration could be a waste of money because of the reasons mentioned above.