Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author stated that green tea has side effects like coffee, therefore people should limit the intake of green tea per day. To butress his/her idea, a study has been mentioned. Although the statement sound reasonable at first sight, there are several evidence needed to butress his/her arguments.

First, we are not sure how long this study is performed to determine whether the study is valid. The author only mentioned a long-term study has been conducted. However, The study may only be conducted in two weeks, and within two weeks, there can be other factors affecting the study. For example, people who take part in the study may happen to be a group of students who are preparing for exams. Therefore, the side effects may be the result of stress, instead of tea.

Second, people who involve in the study may affect the outcome of it. The author should provide the details of the people who participate the study. For example, maybe some of them doesn't only drink tea, but also drink coffee as well, then the side effect may come from coffee. Moreover, perhaps some of them are adolescents, who are relatively sensitive to caffeine, therefore have reported more side effects.

Third, it is unclear how many caffeine in tea make people suffer. Even if tea does have the symptom the author has mentioned, still, it is not precise enough to only suggest limit the intake to no more than two cups a day. Since there are multiple kinds of green tea, with different amount of caffeine. The author should be specific about how many caffeine in tea cause the symptoms.

Taken together, the author should provide the length of the study, details of people who participate in the study, and the amount of caffeine which cause the symptoms to strengthen his/her arguments.