Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The topic raises the issue of whether it is useful to dicuss controversial topics with those with opposing views. Indisputely, very few people changer their mind when questioned about their core beliefs. I disagree that it is not useful to discuss them even if because of the following reasons.

First, the purpose of conversations should not be persuade someone else, but simply be exchanging thinking. Everyone's thinking should be honored. Just like Voltaire says, "I don't agree with you what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it." Therefore, if we set the goal of conversation as exchanging thinking, every conversation is meaningful.

Second, having conversations with people having contrasting views is useful because it allows people to learn different thinking. For instance, born as a Taiwanese, I believe that we are not a part of China because we have our own government and president, so I had had no idea why Chinese people think Taiwan is a province of China. It was not until I had a chance to talk with Chinese students did I hear that is how they are educated and they feel a sense of unity with Taiwanese people. Even though neither did we change our minds toward this topic after the conversation, I started to think it's reasonable for them to think like that.

Lastly, some people would argue that since very few people change their mind in terms of core beliefs, it is not a fruitful conversation. However, talking about controversial topics may serve as chance to know each other better, and build a stronger relationship. For example, one of my friend didn't not support LGBT because she thought they are abnormal. One day, she was talking about the LGBT topic with her friend, and the friend came out and adimitted that he was a gay. After that conversation, she realized that LGBT people are normal and she became closer with that friend.

Therefore, it is meaningful to have conversation of controversial topics even with those who have different points of view.