The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that if opening a cafe in Monarch Books will attract more customers and should be able to compete with the other bookstore. And the author suggests that the children's book section can be used as the cafe space since the decline of the population under age ten. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which has no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that opening a cafe would attract more customers because Monarch Books has a large customer base, for it has been in business for more than years. This statement is a strech that having a customer base for bookstore is equally for a cafe. For example, if there are already several chain coffee shops near the book store, customers may tend to go to the cafes they are familiar with. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly states the market status quo to show if there is still need for more cafes.

Second, the argument claims that the children's book section can be replaced for the cafe space because the population under age ten decreases. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the claim does not demonstrate the proportion of the customers. For instance, if Monarch Books locates in a residential area rather than the business area, where most customers may be families with kids. If the argument had provided evidence that kids are not the main customers of the bookstore, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author apparently concerns about the competition with Regal Books. However, the argument fails to do a more clear observation of the marketing position of the two bookstores. Regal Books may have only business books to attract businessmen, so a cafe space would be necessary for their customers. Moreover, it doesn't show that cafe does attract more customers in Regal Books. Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substansive evidence.

In order to assess the merits of a certain decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of the contributing factors. In this particular case, market's status quo is required. Without this information, the argument remains under substantiated and open to debate.