Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critially important for people to have friends to stay happy. In my opinion, it is more important to have the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time than the ability to make many new friends easily. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the most precious thing about friendship is to have someone to support you when you are in need. Hanging out and having fun together is easy, while offering help and support is not. Therefore, having the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time usually help us to have supportive friends.For example, whenever I feel devastated and need someone to talk to, I would always call my best friend without hesitation. Even if I have met a lot of new people during these years, I know that she is the one who is always there for me. ​

Secondly, building a strong relationship needs time. Even if has the abillity to make new friends easily and keeps making new friends, he or she may have no time to know more about them. Without enough time, the relationship may remain shallow. For example, I once joined a camp and became friends on Facebook with 100 people at a time. However, I contacted none of them afterwards, since I didn't get time to have a deeper talk with any of them.

Last but not least, when time pass, only true friends last. Since people change a lot, our characters and thinking also change by time. Only true friends can understand each other and remain the relationship. To illustrate, I used to be friends who are obsessive with alcohol and always seeking for fun. We were together all the time. However, as time pass, I found that I am not like her. I don't drink alcohol, and I love to stay home. Therefore, we don't hang out any more now.

​In conclusion, I strongly believe that in terms of happiness, the ability of maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time than the ability to make many new friends easily. This is because a friend is the one who can support you when you in need, only true friends last, and we need time to know people’s character.