Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The argument claims that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer could. I disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

First of all, scandals are sensational, thus they may have negative effect on the public. Just like tabloids depicting celebrities’ private lives are popular than magazines conveying strictly censored information, people could be easily affected by scandals. Scandals often resulted from lack of morality. For instance, if the scandals of governors taking bribery to allow constructions with environmental concern out broke very often, the reaction of the public may ebb by times. Therefore making the bribery and lack of concern of environment become normal. The trend of the society may also be harmful for the education.

Furthermore, since scandals are easy to catch people’s eyes, more important things are going to be neglected. To illustrate, when the public are crazy about following the sex scandal of a congressman, the television, news paper will be stuffed with news about it. People may forget about the food security problem which ones face everyday.

Surely, scandals may unveil things which needs to be scrutinize by the public. However, structural problem is not going to be solved. Most of the time, we can only see things happening without being able to do anything about it. When we see a governor who is taking bribery on news, we may not vote for him/her again. However, the environment causing the bribery will not change.

Therefore, scandals are not useful because they have generally negative effect on public, more important things may be neglected, and they will not solve the structural problem behind it.