The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago, thus the budget for education can be reduced. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

To begin with, the argument readily assume that the birth rate is declining because last year's birthrate was only one-half of five years ago. Only by comparing last year's decline can't explain the trend of the past five years. What if last year just happened to have lower bithrate? What if two years ago, the birthrate is twice that of five years ago? The argument failed to provide the birthrate of the five years to show the inclination of decrease.

Moreover, the argument claims that declining birthrate will lead to the decrese of the number of students. Even if the birthrate is actually declining, this is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the claim does not reveal the exact expected number of enrolling students. What if the city is a prosperous urban area, attracting people from other regions to move in? Residents who move from other region could have kids who is going to enroll in Calatrava's public school. Without the exact number of expected students, we are not able to make this conclusion.

Finally, the argument claims that the adult population is going to increase, so the city will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. What if people who need pensions also increase? What if more transportation facilities are needed?

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above- mentioned reasons and therefore unconvincing.