Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The topic raises the controversial issue that governments should ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need. The reason why government should aid major cities is because the nations’s cultural traditions are generated in cities. While I agree that major cities deserved financial support, I disagree with the reason because of the following reasons.

Admittedly, since major cities may have longer histories and more historical heritages, which makes them where the nations’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated. However, if governments aid the cities to make them thrive, cultural traditions is not the most important reason. For cities to thrive, there should be more job opportunities provided, better investment environment for business. None of these are related to cultural traditions but are germane to business.

Second, the reason why it is necessary to provide the major cities financial support is because there are companies and people work there. With companies and people flood to cities, there will be demand for public construction, such as subway systems or office buildings. With better public construction, more companies are willing to have their offices there, and the productivity of the workers may be increased. As a result, governments may expect more tax income, which means more money to support the cities. This could be a vicious circle for the cities to thrive.

Third, the cultural traditions are usually preserved and generated in local areas. Since major cities contend people from different districts, there might not be distinctive cultural traditions in cities. On the other hand, local areas, without many people from other places move in, preserve their own cultural traditions. For instance, Okinawa, an island which is far away from other parts of Japan, preserves their own music, language and traditions. Therefore, it has been a popular travel spots for tourists.

Taken together, it is important to offer financial support to the major cities, not because of its cultural traditions, but because of they being the economical centers.