Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The topic raises the issue of whether universities should require students to take courses only within those fileds they are interested in studying. I generally agree with the opinion because of the following reasons.

First of all, choosing courses they like to learn is allowing students to make decisions, and be responsible to the consequeces. For students in universities, they should also be prepared to the ault world, where no one is going to decide everything for them. By choosing the courses they are interested in instead of the formalized ones, students are able to explore their talents, learn to manage their limited time, and also measuring the cost and benefit of their choses. Consequently, it would be a impeccable chance for students to think independently, and be responsible for what they have chosen.

Furthermore, along with the rapid growth of specialization, taking courses which are necessary for them enables them to spend time effectively. Imagine a literature student, who is also a aspiring writer, is asked to learn the convoluted calculus. Or a passionate chemical student has to spend time remembering history events, instead of conducting experiments in the labratory. Common sense have told us that this is not only a waste of time for the students, but also a waste for the whole society. Hence, the students should be able to take courses within fields they are interested in studying.

Admittedly, one could argue that if students only choose the courses they like, they might not be doing the right decisions because of limited knowledge. Therefore, the carriculum should be carefully designed, and provide enough instruction and advice for students. With enough instructions, students would be able to choose the right courses for them.

In conclusion, universities are where students learn to be an adult. With enough instrunction and support, allowing students to take courses as they like is the best way for them to learn to think independently, be responsible, and also use their time effectively.