The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Mayor is planning to build a subway system to solve the traffic problem in downtown areas where buese surve as the only form of public transportation. There are several assumption made by the Mayor to prove the subway system is the right solution to the traffic problem.

First, the Mayor mentions that residents have been complaining about inconsistent buses and lack of safety while riding the buses. In other words, It is assumed that with less people taking bus, these problem of bus will be solved. However, the inconsistent buses may because of lack of bus drivers, thus the shift is not run well. And the lack of safety problem may be the result of roads that are not wide enough to contain the amount of vehicles. In this case, none of these problem will be solved if less people taking bus.

Moreover, the note claims that subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. This implies that there is need for subway twenty-four hours a day. However, most of people may not live in downtown areas, and shops may be closed after 8pm. Therefore, people may only use the subway during the rush hour like, 8-9 am and 5-7 pm. In a word, running twenty-four hours a day may be unnecessary.

Last, the Mayor readily assume that with less time spent on traffic, there will be an immediate increase in worker productivity. Nevertheless, whether the time spent at traffic will be shortened is needed to be proved. It is possible that there is no room for the stations at the most busy areas, and the stations will be built far away from them. Therefore, it may take more time since commuters have to walk further from stations to where they are going.

Taken together, the assumptions need to be examined by the aspects mentioned above to prove that subway system is a valid solution to the problem.