Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument which the author is making is not strong enough. The assumptions which author makes for supporting the argument are weak and those do not provide any strong evidence for supporting the argument.

The author says that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news as over the past year, their news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. The author states the above assumption as a reaon to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The author does not give an evidence of other factors which affect advertising of local businesses. The author should give an evidence that local bussinesses have canceled their advertising contracts only with their late-night news program but continuing the contracts with other late-night news programs which have devoted the less time to weather and local news.

The author should also give an evidence that the local bussinesses that have canceled the advertising contracts with them have also canceled their contracts with other late-night news programs which have devoted more time to weather and local news. Then these above two specific evidences will strengthen the argument.